

JOINT (ALL) OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE AGENDA

7.30 pm	Thursday 28 July 2011	Town Hall
---------	--------------------------	-----------

For ease of reference, the Membership and Quorum of each OSC is appended.

Members of each of the Council's Overview & Scrutiny Committees are invited to attend this joint meeting. For practical purposes, the joint meeting is being convened as a single meeting but separate minutes will be taken for each Overview & Scrutiny Committee as if it were a special meeting of each of them.

NOTE: An additional meeting of the Cabinet will be held on Wednesday 17 August 2011 to consider the outcome of this meeting.

For information about the meeting please contact:
lan Buckmaster
Tel: 01708 432431; email: ian.buckmaster@havering.gov.uk

AGENDA ITEMS

1 CHAIRMAN OF MEETING

To agree a Chairman for the meeting

2 CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman will announce details of the arrangements in case of fire or other events that might require the meeting room or building's evacuation.

3 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS (IF ANY) - RECEIVE.

4 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Members are invited to declare any interests in any of the items on the agenda at this point of the meeting. Members may still declare an interest in an item at any time prior to the consideration of the matter.

5 THE COUNCIL'S FINANCIAL STRATEGY (Pages 1 - 46)

The report considered and agreed by the Cabinet at its meeting on 13 July is attahced for Members' consideration.

For the purposes of the Constitution and good governance, this meeting is being convened as if a requisition of the Cabinet's decisions had been properly submitted. The Cabinet will consider any concerns etc. raised at the joint meeting and thus this is the Overview & Scrutiny Committees' opportunity to scrutinise the decision of the Cabinet.

A relevant extract form the draft minutes of the Cabinet will follow.

RECOMMENDATION

That the Committees, individually and collectively:

- 1. **Receive** a presentation from the Leader of the Council and note the proposed revenue priorities relevant to the service(s).
- 2. **Note** the financial position of the Council.
- 3. **Note** that the report is formally consulting them on the proposed Corporate budget adjustments and that this is the opportunity to scrutinise the Cabinet's decisions.
- 4. **Consider** the Cabinet's decisions and **request**, if it is considered appropriate to do so, Cabinet to consider any items of concern emerging from the debate.

Ian Buckmaster
Committee Administration & Member Support
Manager

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

Committee	Membership
	Councillors
Children & Learning Overview and Scrutiny Committee	Chairman: Sandra Binion (Con)
(14 members:)	Vice-Chairman: Gillian Ford (Res)
(14 members.)	Members:
(Quorum 6)	Dennis Bull (Con)
	Robby Misir (Con)
	Linda Trew(Con)
	Billy Taylor (Con)
	Frederick Thompson (Con)

Committee	Membership Councillors
	Nic Dodin (Res) Pat Murray (Lab)
	Voting co-opted Members:
	Statutory Members representing the Churches:
	Phillip Grundy (Church of England) and Jack How (Roman Catholic Church)
	Statutory Members representing parent governors:
	Anne Ling (Primary), Garry Dennis (Secondary) and Julie Lamb (Special)
	Non-voting members representing local teacher unions and professional associations:
	Margaret Cameron (NAHT), Sue Kortlandt (NUT) and Keith Passingham (NASUWT).
Crime & Disorder Committee (9 members:) (Quorum 3)	Chairman: Ted Eden (Con) Vice-Chairman: John Wood (Res) Members: Becky Bennett (Con) Roger Evans (Con) Georgina Galpin (Con) Fred Osborne (Con) Linda Van den Hende (Res) Denis Breading (Lab) David Durant (IRG)
Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee (7 members:) (Quorum 3)	Chairman: Jeff Brace (Con) Vice-Chairman: John Mylod (Res) Members: Dennis Bull (Con) Peter Gardner (Con) Garry Pain (Con) Barbara Matthews (Res) David Durant (IRG)
Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee (6 members:) (Quorum 3)	Chairman: Pam Light (Con) Vice-Chairman: Brian Eagling (Res) Members: Wendy Brice-Thompson (Con) Fred Osborne (Con) Linda Trew (Con) Nic Dodin (Res)
Individuals Overview and Scrutiny Committee (6 members:) (Quorum 3)	Chairman: Wendy Brice-Thompson (Con) Vice-Chairman: Linda Van Den Hende (Res) Members: Jeff Brace (Con) Pam Light (Con) Keith Wells (Con) June Alexander (Res)
Towns & Communities Overview and Scrutiny Committee (9 members:)	Chairman: Frederick Osborne (Con) Vice-Chairman: Linda Hawthorn (Res) Members: Wendy Brice-Thompson (Con)

Joint (All) Overview & Scrutiny Committee, 28 July 2011

Committee	Membership Councillors
(Quorum 3)	Osman Dervish (Con) Garry Pain (Con) Keith Wells (Con) Ray Morgon (Res) Paul McGeary (Lab) Michael Deon Burton (IRG)
Value Overview and Scrutiny Committee (6 members:) (Quorum 3)	Chairman: Robby Misir (Con) Vice-Chairman: Ray Morgon (Res) Members: Ted Eden (Con) Billy Taylor (Con) Damian White (Con) Ron Ower (Res)